Home » News » Summer of Code: Programming Competition

Summer of Code: Programming Competition



Software Foundation hosts SUMMER of CODE programming competition for secondary schools and tertiary institutes.

C++ Programming Language will be used. The
competition also has a open category.


  1. 6 weeks of resources and online training given and available from April 1st 2015.
  2. Registration fees to be paid when registered to Software Foundation bank account
  3. A team of 2 – 5 members including the teacher who will only assist in the competition, but will have access to all resources.
  4. Each school can have several teams.
  5. Open Category will restrict 2 members per team.
  6. All training will be done through Moodle online learning. If resources are given, then 2 hours per week meeting will be arranged in Nausori-Suva and Lautoka for support.


  1. Secondary School
  2. Tertiary Institutes
  3. Open Category


  1. 50.00 per team. USB of Software and Videos will be given to each team upon registration.c
  2. Email list of team members with their email addresses to Software Foundation Secretary: Mr. Ravishel Naicker, secretary@softwarefoundationfiji.org in order to register. Bank details will be given in order to make payment. Once payment receipt is emailed, then registration will be confirmed and Moodle access will be given.
  3. weblearn.softwarefoundationfiji.org will be used to give materials for competition
  4. Introduction of the competition will be given first week of December at USP Laucala.
  5. Registration Deadline is 25th November.


More details can be given by Software Foundation Vice President, Ms. Swaran Ravindra, vp@softwarefoundationfiji.org



  1. Certificate of Participation
  2. Special prizes (TBA)

Programming Competition Panel of Judges

  1. Dr. Rohitash Chandra, President of Software Foundation
  2. Dr. Nicholas Rollings, Associate Professor  in GIS at University of the South Pacific
  3. Dr. Anurag Sharma, School of Computing, Information and Mathematical Sciences, University of the South Pacific
  4. Dr. Akash Dutt Dubey, School of Mathematical  and Computing Sciences, Fiji National University
  5. Prof. Shaukat Ali, School of Science and Technology, University of Fiji
  6. Ms. Swaran Ravindra, Vice President, Software Foundation
  7. Mr. Shivanesh Lal, Software Foundation
  8. Mr. Faraaz Mustapha, Software Foundation
  9. Mr. Eric Arifanata, Solomon Islands Chapter Coordinator, Software Foundation
  10. Mr. Gary Wong, Graduate Programmer, Artificial Intelligence and Cybernetics research Group, Software Foundation
  11. Mr. Ratneel Deo, Graduate Programmer, Artificial Intelligence and Cybernetics research Group, Software Foundation
  12. Mr. Ravishel Naicker, Secretary, Software Foundation.